October 21, 2004
-
'DA JINX is over...

I guess Congrats is in order to Red Sox fans. You finally beat the New York Spankees. Normally I would be jumping for joy...but not this time. As some of you may know, I am a diehard New York Mets fan. When I mean diehard, I mean I'm not one to say:
"I'll root for the Yankees in the playoffs since they're from New York."
Nope. I would do anything but. But maybe I've changed. I went to Boston last April and ran into some Boston fans that found out from we were from NY. I guess they beat the Yankees in a series earlier that month and started talking trash:
Baahstonian [that's how you need to pronunce it in Bahston]: "How did yeh like the series the other weekend? Didn't look that good, did ja?"
(I don't know what happened but I could never just have someone start talking crap to me.)
Me: "Whatever man. You lose every year to US [meaning the Yanks] and WE keep kicking your butts in the playoffs. So have your cute little series win. While WE laugh to the World Series."
So then it begun. I began to hate the Yankees a little less. I did witness history though. I got to witness a reverse
sweep. Down 0-3, The Sox won 4 in a row. Its never been done before. The "Curse of the Bambino" is officially OVER. Don't really hate the Red Sox though. How could I? They had one of the most notorious players in all of baseball in mind....
BILL BUCKNER. For those who don't follow baseball, my main man made a HUGE, I mean MONUMENTAL error in Game 6 of the 1986 World Series, in which he let a ball go right thru his legs and forced a Game 7, which the NY Mets eventually won. Great stuff.
Couldn't have scripted it better myself.
Don't get me wrong, I'm still a diehard fan. Just wanted the Yankees to make it to the Big Show....and then lose to the Cardinals/Astros!
.
* I thank my lucky stars every night that Mr. and Mrs. Buckner brought Billy into this world!
.
Comments (21)
I've been to both Yankees and Mets games - the crowds are way different, but both really passionate! But I do favor the Yankees, tho. My first game was in 1978 when it was all Reggie Jackson, Lou Pinella, Bucky Dent, Rick Cerone, Craig Nettles...
I was hoping for the Sox because they are the underdogs and glad the curse is over !!! The Yanks have won enough times. Plus they buy all their talent cause they got deep pockets.
A's fan here ! =oD
im so mad the yankees lost... boston wont win the series.... 1918....1918
1986... i was 1 yrs old... haha! well, once the Giants are off i am too... ohh well... i think i'm getting sick... cya
i knew boston was ognna win
sigh...at least u werent in Boston during Game 7..being a student in Boston bites when ur from NY...Hardcore Sox fans surround you all over the place, not to mention the riot..after the Sox won, there was a riot in Fenway Park..overturned/burning NY licensed cars, shattering of glass windows and signs...paint cans thrown thru windows...yea Boston Red Sox won, but with the end of Boston the City..haha..and did I mention the nonstop honking of cars on the roads and screaming BU students...>_<
lolz. I dont like to watch baseball, but i saw that game and i was really disappointed with the yankees. what happened? by the way, LOSER! I got the picture up this time i think. lolz. Laterz~
I am a yankees fan, but mets are cool. i've been to both stadiums and witness games for each. Man, i didn't want boston to win. oh well. lol but that's mad funny about bill buckner, i would have never shown my face ever again. haha. lol. good day for the mets back then. =0) Too bad they didn't make it to the world series, i would like to see another subway series, or at least one of new york's team in the world series.
lol oh yea and i might dress up and go to those stonybrook halloween parties. lol.
Let's Go Mets!!
Drama...drama...drama...!!
Reminds of me Jimmy Fallon's SNL sketch of Pat Sullivan and Denise (Idunno). "YOU-AH!"
the yanks lost and im happy... fucking bitches.. *spits
ah gong... u didnt complete the offer for the free flatscreen... dont u want gmail?
my customers kept telling me that i was witnessing history.... i just smiled and nod.
no idea how big that game ending was... O_O
LMAO=Laffin My Ass Off!!
yea..boston wuz gonna take it..i knew
well, have a good weekend!! p'z
oh.. btw, the curse ain't over yet. The Red Sox have been to the World Series. They just haven't won since!
Random PROP!!!...
Felix you are so funny man.
Na I am not stressing out, but I am working hard. I am not sure if I am working too hard. I don't think I am, so that means I have to work more I guess.
Anyway, yeah you are the Asain Marbury.
What can I talk about? I was thinking about trying out for the UB basketball team, but I know I am not good enough. I mean there's like a lot of school work and I don't know how everything would work out if I do plan to join. I'm just saying. If I do plan to join, I was wondering if you can help me practice. Marbury teaching Larry, that doesn't sound right. Just joking. Yea, maybe like during the Summer if you have time then you can train me. I'm just thinking about this but I'm not for sure yet. Tell me what you think about it okie.
Well, Im going back to my dorm and do some work.
Take care bury.
......the hot spot is actually hard rock live at universal studios, but the seaworld hotel is the only one that can accomodate all 4000 of us. big school, i know...its great living in the themepark capital of the world, haha. is homecoming a big deal up there like it is here?
nice profile! very colorful and fun to reeeaddd hehe.
yaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnkkkkkkkkkkkeeeeeeeeeesssssssss =p
red sucks
Comments are closed.